|HOME ABOUT CALENDAR LOCATION HISTORY SITE MAP LINKS|
Twenty-two interested people met at Graham Road School on April 30, 1975, to discuss the idea of forming a Reynoldsburg area historical society.
Temporary officers and committee members served until the first Annual Meeting in September 1975. Following the Ohio Historical Society guidelines, the committee drew up a constitution.
Stated aims of the Reynoldsburg-Truro Historical society are to discover, preserve and disseminate knowledge of the history of Reynoldsburg, Ohio and surrounding areas; and to illuminate past lives, events and activities.
In our many years of growth, we have had interested, competent leadership and members who care and give their time to help keep the society developing and reaching out.
The Historical Society has achieved several of its stated goals. Our museum is located at the Heritage Center, a restored home from the 1850's, 1485 Jackson Street in Old Reynoldsburg. There you will find an increasing collection of tools, costumes, photos, household furniture, farm items and published materials relating to historic Reynoldsburg and Truro Township.
This location is in a part of John D. French's original 1831 town plat. See the Events Page for our meeting schedule.
Our programs and newsletters provide a continuity essential to maintain an interest in things historical. Our internet site provides a method of telling our story world wide. There are society members in many states, who have relocated from Reynoldsburg, but still keep an interest in our activities.
Anyone with an interest in the history of our area is welcome to attend our meetings or join our organization.